Mass Hysteria and Murder: the Tale of the Hammersmith Ghost

How a cobbler in a tablecloth terrorized his neighborhood and caused an innocent man’s death

George Dillard
4 min readJun 17, 2021
Image from the Newgate Calendar’s account of the Hammersmith ghost (public domain)

DDuring the long, dark nights of November and December 1803, a rumor spread in Hammersmith, a neighborhood in west London. Several residents reported seeing a ghost. He was tall and dressed in a white cloak, although some residents said he had horns. The ghost jumped out and scared people in the darkness; some said that he had actually attacked them. Thomas Groom, a servant, described his encounter with the apparition:

“I was going through the church yard between eight and nine o’clock, with my jacket under my arm, and my hands in my pocket, when some person came from behind a tomb-stone, which there are four square in the yard, behind me, and caught me fast by the throat with both hands, and held me fast; my fellow-servant, who was going on before, hearing me scuffling, asked what was the matter; then, whatever it was, gave me a twist round, and I saw nothing; I gave a bit of a push out with my fist, and felt something soft, like a great coat.”

People in Hammersmith began to panic — as is the case with things like this, rumors built on each other and took on a life of their own. A story spread that a pregnant woman had died of fright after…

--

--